New Primary Curriculum

The Government have released a New National Curriculum which was implemented from September 2014. The national curriculum provides pupils with an introduction to the essential knowledge that they need to be educated citizens. It introduces pupils to the best that has been thought and said; and helps engender an appreciation of human creativity and achievement.

You will find the Curriculum Maps that our staff have planned for the 2016-17 Academic Year on their class pages.


We have a strong belief that a broad and balanced curriculum should be delivered to all children, enthusiastically, to stimulate their minds so that each child is given the opportunity to be included in a wide curriculum.

Our setting is organised into 3 age related phases that deliver a curriculum for children from the age of 4 - 11 years.

  • Reception classes form the Foundation Stage which caters for children from 4-5 years old. They follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum:

The new Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum has seven areas of learning; Communication and Language, Literacy, Maths, Drama and Expressive Arts, Physical Development, Understanding of the World and Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

  • Key Stage 1 (Years 1 & 2) and Key Stage 2 (Years 3-6) follow the new National Curriculum:

The National Curriculum is made up of the core subjects; English, Science, Mathematics, Computing. and R.E. It also includes the Foundation subjects; Art & Design, Design Technology, Geography, History and Music. R.E, Citizenship, Personal, Health & Social Education. Our curriculum is motivating, engaging and taught through a theme with a strong emphasis on creativity. Children also have the opportunity to learn to swim from Year 2 up to year 6.

Files to Download

Contact Us

Telephone: 01928 574544


Headteacher: Ros Atkins

Weston Primary School,

Lambsickle Lane, Runcorn,

Cheshire WA7 4RA

SENCO: Laura Simpson